About the Board


About the Board

Members of the inaugural Dental Board of Australia were appointed for three years by the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council on 31 August 2009. 

Functions of the Board

The functions of the Dental Board of Australia include:

  • registering dentists, students, dental specialists, dental therapists, dental hygienists, oral health therapists and dental prosthetists 
  • developing standards, codes and guidelines for the dental profession
  • handling notifications, complaints, investigations and disciplinary hearings
  • assessing overseas trained practitioners who wish to practise in Australia  
  • approving accreditation standards and accredited courses of study.


State and Regional Boards and Committees

The Dental Board of Australia is supported by State and Regional Boards which represent each State and Territory. The State and Regional Boards are as follows: 

  • Australian Capital Territory, Tasmania and Victoria (Regional)
  • Northern Territory and South Australia (Regional)
  • New South Wales (State)
  • Queensland(State)
  • Western Australia (State) 

These Boards make individual registration and notification decisions, based on national policies and standards set by the Dental Board of Australia. The National Board has formally delegated the necessary powers to the State and Regional Boards.

The National Board has also appointed Committees for each State and Regional Board to deal with the registration of individuals and with notifications. These Committees have also been formally delegated powers to make certain decisions. Committees include:

  • Registration and Notification Committee
  • Immediate Action Committee 

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

The Board is supported by 
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency(AHPRA). AHPRA has a National office based in Melbourne and offices in every State and Territory to support local Boards and Committees.

For information about legislation governing our operations see AHPRA's Legislation & Publications.


Contact the Board

Postal address:

Dr John Lockwood, Chair
Dental Board of Australia
G.P.O. Box 9958 
Melbourne VIC 3001 

You can use the online enquiry form to contact the board. 



Read Communiqués from the Board.